Canal Basin Park
CanalBasinPark4.jpg

 

The Canal Basin Park opened in April of 2002. The park consists of the Reiser House, the Canal Boat Playpark; Anne Sloan Borland Performing Arts Pavilion and the Sylvia Schraff Amphitheater; and walking/bicycle trails.

The park is open to the public and admission is free.
The park is open daily dawn to dusk.

lights_amphitheater.jpgThe Anne Sloan Borland Performing Arts Pavilion and the Sylvia Schraff Amphitheater were completed in summer of 2007 at the park to accommodate the community's entertainment needs. To inquire about the ability to rent this pavilion, and for the fee schedule; please call the Borough Manager's Office at (814) 695-7543 and ask to speak with the Borough Secretary. You can find the appropriate application and guidelines under online forms on this website.

All applications for rental of the Anne Sloan Borland Performing Arts Pavilion are subject to review and approval by the Borough Manager.

 

 History of the Hollidaysburg Canal Basin

 

During the 19th Century this was a major terminus point for the Pennsylvania Canal. Recently this Hollidaysburg historic site has undergone extensive renovation. Here, visitors can view a replica of the lock mechanisms, and experience life along the canal. You can see historic displays about the Pennsylvania Canal, and stroll along the Greenways or the nearby Lower trail. The National Park Service offers Heritage Hikes through the area. These casual and friendly strolls through the area emphasize the Historical significance of the Pennsylvania Canal and the Borough of Hollidaysburg, PA.

At this major terminus point for the Allegheny Portage Railroad, cargo was unloaded onto rail cars while loaded section boats were pulled out of the canal; both were then hauled on a series of levels and steam powered incline planes. Two large water basins were located off of Bedford Street and Juniata Street in town. Connecting the basins was a canal lock, where boats proceeded into the upper basin along the Beaverdam Branch of the Juniata River.

At the lower basin, boats were either unloaded onto the Portage Railroad, or the various wharves that were located along the basin. During this time, the section adjacent to the Canal was a typical seaport, with business servicing the Canal worker or traveler. The Pennsylvania Railroad bought the Canal and Portage Railroad in 1856, closing the Railroad but operating the Canal until 1872.

Portage Railroad mapmainline_greenway_web3.jpg

 

 Photo Gallery

 

CanalBasinPark1.jpg  CanalBasinPark9.jpg

CanalBasinPark3.jpg  CanalBasinPark2.jpg  CanalBasinPark6.jpg

CanalBasinPark7.jpg  CanalBasinPark8.jpg

CanalBasinPark10.jpg  CanalBasinPark5.jpg